Florida Chapter - Symposium

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

General Information

The 2015 FlAVS/FSM joint Symposium will be held March 9-10, 2015 at the Student Union Building of the University of Central Florida in Orlando.
The Symposium will consist of a plenary lecture, technical sessions with invited and contributed presentations, a poster session including a student poster competition and an equipment exhibit for vendors to display surface analytical, vacuum, microscopy, thin film and microelectronic equipment. This symposium is sponsored by the AVS Florida Chapter (Fl AVS) and the Florida Society for Microscopy (FSM).
The equipment exhibit will take place in the UCF Student Union Pegasus Ballroom, in conjunction with the poster session, reception and coffee breaks.
The reception will be held on Monday evening, March 9th, from 5:00-7:00 p.m. for all symposium participants and attendees.
There is NO REGISTRATION FEE for the meeting thanks to the support of our vendors and sponsors from colleges and industry.
Registration includes daily coffee breaks, poster session refreshments, reception and a symposium booklet.
A Door Prize Drawing ($100) will be held on Tuesday, March 10th at 12 pm in the Exhibitor Hall. All registered symposium attendees will be eligible to register for the drawing. Participants will need to turn in a 10 vendor signature page to qualify for the drawing.


Technical Program

The technical program will be held on Monday and Tuesday, March 9th and 10th, 2015 at the University of Central Florida Student Union.
Keynote Speaker - Steven George, University of Colorado, Boulder
Topics of the Symposium
  • Advances in Instrumentation
  • Characterization of Nano/Biomaterials
  • Microscopy in the Biological & Physical Sciences/Focused Ion Beams
  • Renewable Energy
  • Surface Science
  • Thin Films
  • NEMS
  • Poster Session

Invited Speakers

  • Yajie Dong, University of Central Florida
  • Chris Ferekides, University of South Florida
  • Brent Gila, University of Florida
  • John Herr, University of South Carolina
  • James Hickman, University of Central Florida
  • Peng Jiang, University of Florida
  • Aravinda Kar, University of Central Florida
  • Mercedeh Khajavikhan, University of Central Florida
  • Amy Lane, University of North Florida
  • Paolo Longo, Gatan, Inc., CA
  • Joong-Ho Moon, Florida International University
  • Joel Olson, Florida Institute of Technology
  • Ellane Park, Rollins College
  • Franky So, University of Florida
  • Stephen Stagon, University of North Florida
  • Yi-Feng Su, Florida State University
  • Jing Wang, University of South Florida
  • James Whitten, University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • Matt Yung, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Click here to view Program Schedule
Invited Talks: 30 minutes (25 minutes of presentation+5 minutes for discussion)
Contributed Talks: 15 minutes (12 minutes of presentation+3 minutes for discussion)

Online Registration

Registration is required for all participants.

There is no registration fee for either the symposium or equipment exhibit but online registration is strongly recommended for getting meal counts, making ID badges, and information packets.

Please complete and submit the Registration Form preferably preferably before March 5th, 2015 at Midnight EDT. A copy will be sent to your e-mail.

If you are an exhibitor, please complete and submit the  Exhibitor & Sponsor Registration Form and send your payment (checks payable to: American Vacuum Society) by US Mail to:

FL-AVS c/o
UCF AMPAC Materials Characterization Facility 
12443 Research Parkway, Suite 304
Orlando, FL 32826

Please note that the registration deadline for inclusion in the program is February 25, 2015.

For questions about registration, please contact Dr. Maggie Puga-Lambers

Presentation Guidelines: click here

Archives: To view past technical programs, student poster winners, and award winners click here

Hotel & Travel: To book your hotel or find out more about travel, parking, etc. click here

Parking Information: For parking information, click here

Exhibitors & Sponsors: click here