Roster | Joseph E. Greene

Joseph E. Greene

3090 South Bridle Drive
Rafter J Ranch
Jackson, WY  83001-9124
Tel: 307-734-8009
E-mail: joe_greene @
JOSEPH (JOE) E. GREENE is the D.B. Willett Professor of Materials Science at the University of Illinois, the Tage Erlander Professor of Materials Physics at Linköping University, Sweden, and a Chaired Professor at the National Taiwan University of Science and Technology. The focus of his research has been the development of an atomic-level understanding of adatom/surface interactions during the dynamic process of vapor-phase crystal growth in order to controllably manipulate nanochemistry, nanostructure, and, hence, physical properties. His work has involved film growth by all forms of sputter deposition, solid and gas-source MBE, UHV-CVD, MOCVD, and ALE. Joe has published more than 625 papers and review articles, 29 book chapters, and co-edited four books in the general areas of crystal growth, thin-film physics, and surface science. In particular, he has used energetic accelerated condensing species and UV photochemistry for probing as well as stimulating surface reactions that do not proceed thermally. He is currently Editor-in-Chief of Thin Solid Films and Past Editor of CRC Critical Reviews in Solid State and Materials Sciences. He is active in AVS where he has served as a Trustee, Chair of the Thin Film and Advanced Surface Engineering Divisions, member of the Board of Directors, President of the Society, and is currently Clerk. He has also chaired the Thin Film Division, the Education Committee, and the Emerging Countries Committee of the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique, and Applications (IUVSTA) and served on the Governing Board of the American Institute of Physics and the Executive Committee of the Materials Physics Division of APS. He is presently the AVS representative to IUVSTA. Major awards include the John A. Thornton Memorial Award (1991) from AVS for “outstanding research in thin films;” the Tage Erlander Award (1991) from the Swedish Natural Science Research Council for “contributions to the physics and chemistry of thin films;” Senior University of Illinois Scholar (1991) for “distinction as a member of the faculty;” an Honorary Doctor of Science Degree (1992) from Linköping University; Fellow of AVS (1993); the Technical Excellence Award from the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) for “outstanding research contributions in the development of low-energy accelerated-ion doping during MBE Si and Si1‑xGex film growth” (1994); the 1996 DOE Award for Sustained Outstanding Research; the 1998 David Adler Award in Materials Physics from the American Physical Society for “outstanding research and lecturing on the physics and chemistry of thin films;” Fellow of the American Physical Society (1998); the 1998 Aristotle Award from SRC for “career achievement in outstanding graduate student teaching in its broadest sense;” the D.B. Willett Professor of Engineering, the 1999 MRS David Turnbull Award for “contributions to the use of non-thermal methods in the growth of thin films and the engineering of their phase, composition, and microstructure; and for excellence in teaching and writing;” the 2001 International Scientist of the Year for “contributions to thin film science;” election to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 2003 for “pioneering studies in the synthesis and characterization of epitaxial and highly-ordered polycrystalline materials;” Fellow of the Materials Research Society (2013); Lifetime Achievement Award (2013) from the Taiwan Association for Coatings and Thin Film Technology for "seminal contributions to understanding the physics, chemistry, and materials science of thin films and nanoclusters; the SVC Mentor Award (2015); the 2016 World Expert Lecturer Award, University of the Philippines; the Sarton International History of Science Award from the History of Science Society (2016); elected in 2017 as a member of the EU Academy of Sciences, and received the Nathaniel Sugarman Award from SVC in 2018 for "seminal scientific and educational contributions to the atomistic-level understanding of the synthesis of nanostructured thin films." He received the AVS ASED R.F. Bunshah Award in 2019 for " seminal contributions in areas of thin-film physics, surface science, and surface engineering."