Roster | Michael D. Williams

Michael D. Williams

Director (2015-2016)
Clark Atlanta University
Dept. of Physics
223 James P Brawley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-880-6258

MICHAEL D. WILLIAMS is a Professor and Director of the Center of Excellence in Microelectronics and Photonics in the Department of Physics at Clark Atlanta University. He received dual B.S. degrees in physics from Morehouse College (1979) and nuclear engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology (1979) and a Ph.D. in physics from Stanford University (1987). Professor Williams is a former member of technical staff in the Optoelectronics Research Department of the former AT&T Bell Laboratories. He joined AT&T in 1987 after completing an appointment as a visiting scientist at IBM's Almaden Research Center. Williams joined the faculty of Clark Atlanta University in 1994. His teaching has ranged from general science courses for business and communications students to senior and graduate courses on quantum mechanics and surface physics. His research interests are focused on achieving a fundamental understanding of the physical processes, growth morphology, interfacial strain and electronic structure modifications that occur at the surfaces and interfaces of epitaxially grown films and semiconductors using an array of surface sensitive spectroscopic, imaging, and depth profiling techniques. His studies include the effect of strain and the interfacial migration of constituent materials on the electronic structure of semiconductors, surface reaction kinetics for epitaxial growth processes, and surface state interactions for biological and chemical sensors. His most recent work investigates the growth morphology and processing of epitaxial graphene. In 2007 he accepted an invitation to serve on the National Academy of Sciences’ Board of Army Science and Technology study committee for a Review of Directed Energy Technology to determine the future role of these technologies for the US Army. Michael has been a long-standing member of AVS since his graduate studies at Stanford and has served the Society in a variety of positions.  He is currently an AVS Trustee and an Executive Officer for the Tennessee Valley Chapter. He served on the AVS Professional Leadership and Outreach Committee and served as the AVS Liaison to the AIP Liaison Committee on Under-represented Minorities. He has also served as the Chair of the AVS Chapters, Divisions and Groups (CDG) Committee, as an Executive Officer for the Electronics Materials and Processing Division, as a member of the Marketing Committee, as the Chair of the APS Committee on Minorities and as a member of the Nominating Committee for the APS Division of Condensed Matter Physics. As CDG Chair, he oversaw the addition of the Hudson Mohawk Chapter, the rejuvenation of the Texas and Tennessee Chapters, and the addition of four student chapters: Alabama, Central Florida, Washington, and UCLA.