Roster | Anna Belu

Patricia A. Thiel

Director (2019-2020)
Iowa State University
Depts of Chemistry and MSE
1605 Gilman Hall
Ames, IA 50011
Tel: 515-294-8985
email: patricia_thiel @
PATRICIA A. THIEL is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, and of Materials Science and Engineering, at Iowa State University. She is also a Faculty Scientist in the Ames Laboratory. She is known for her research on the formation and evolution of nanostructures on surfaces, and surface properties and structures of quasicrystals. She earned her B.A. in Chemistry at Macalester College in 1975, and her Ph.D. in Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology in 1981.  After postdoctoral work at the University of Munich as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, she joined the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories, at Livermore, then moved to Iowa State University in 1983, where she was recognized with awards from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation and the A. P. Sloan Foundation, and by an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, early in her career. She has since been accorded many other recognitions, notably the David J. Adler Lectureship Award from the American Physical Society (2010), the Arthur W. Adamson Award from the American Chemical Society (2010), and the Medard W. Welch Award of the AVS (2014). She has authored or edited about 300 scientific publications. She has served on numerous boards and committees for major scientific organizations, and has been a member of editorial advisory boards for 10 journals. She is currently Associate Editor of the Journal of Chemical Physics. Her past service to AVS includes the Board of Trustees, Executive Committee of the Surface Science Division, Program Chair of the National Symposium, and Chair of the International Interactions Committee.