Roster | Sean L. Jones

Sean L. Jones

Director (2018-2019)
National Science Foundation
2415 Eisenhower Ave
Suite E9483
Alexadria, VA 22314
Tel: 703-292-2986
E-mail: seanjones @

SEAN L. JONES serves as the Deputy Division Director for the National Science Foundation’s Division of Materials Research.  He is passionate about advancing electronic and photonic thin film material systems as well as inspiring the next generation of engineers and scientists.  During his eight years at NSF, Sean co-managed DMR’s National Facilities portfolio, with primary responsibility over the newly developed Materials Innovation Platform (MIP) program and the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (NHMFL) facility.  Prior to his assignment in the National Facilities and Instrumentation program, Sean co-managed the Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers (MRSEC) and Partnership for Research and Education in Materials (PREM) programs.   Prior to joining NSF, Dr. Jones has served as the Director of Engineering for Applied Plasmonics, Chair and Professor for both the optical and electronic engineering departments at Norfolk State University, and as Technical Manager and Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories of Lucent Technologies.  Sean is also passionate about the AVS, serving on the Thin Film Division, co-chairing the AVS 60th Accelerating Materials Discovery for Global Competitiveness, serving on the AVS 61st International Symposium & Exhibition Program Committee, as well as serving on the Professional Leadership Committee focusing on the Federal Funding Town Hall.  When in graduate school, Sean was a recipient of the AVS National Graduate Student Research Award.  Dr. Jones received his B.S. in Ceramic Engineering (now Materials Science and Engineering) from Clemson University and his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Florida.