Roster | Yves Chabal

Yves Chabal

Trustee (2014-2016)
University of Texas at Dallas
Dept. of Materials Science & Eng.
800 Campbell Avenue, RL 10
Richardson, TX 75080
Tel: 972-883-5751
YVES CHABAL currently holds a Texas Instrument Distinguished University Chair in Nanoelectronics and is department Head of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Texas at Dallas. He obtained a BA in Physics from Princeton University in 1974, and a Ph.D. in Physics from Cornell University in 1980 under Al Sievers’ guidance. He then joined Bell Laboratories as a postdoc under Jack Rowe’s mentorship. He worked at Bell Labs in Murray Hill, New Jersey, from 1980 until 2002 for AT&T, Lucent Technologies (1996) and Agere Systems (2001) in the Surface Physics, Optical Physics and Materials Science departments where he developed sensitive spectroscopic methods to characterize surfaces and interfaces. In 2003, he joined Rutgers University as Professor in Chemistry and Biomedical Engineering, where he expanded his research into new methods of film growth, bio-sensing, and energy applications.  At Rutgers, he also directed the Laboratory for Surface Modification, an interdisciplinary Center to promote large initiatives. In January 2008, he joined UT Dallas to lead the Materials Science and Engineering department in the Erik Jonsson Engineering School. He was on the Advisory Editorial Board of Vibrational Spectroscopy (1991-94), and currently the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology (2008-2014), Surface Science (2010-2015), Chemistry of Materials (2012-2014), C&EN (2102-2015), and Metal Organic Frameworks (2012-2015). He has chaired or co-chaired the 6th International Conf. on Vibrations at Surfaces (1990), the 72nd Physical Electronics Conference (2012), the AVS Atomic Layer Deposition conference (2007), and the Physical Electronics Conference (2012) and is currently on the Program committee for the International Conference on Solid Films and Surfaces (ICSFS 16), and the International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS 2014). He was on the executive Committee of the AVS Surface Science Division (1990-94; 2007-09), program chair and chair of the Electronics & Materials Processing Division (1997-1998) and of the Surface Science Division (2009-2010). He served on the MRS Board of Directors (2008-2010) and is currently the chair of the MRS Membership Engagement committee (2012-2014) and a Member at Large of the Executive Committee of the APS Division of Condensed Matter Physics (2010-2013). He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Vacuum Society and the Materials Research Society, received a Bell Laboratories Affirmative Action Award (1994), an IBM faculty award (2003), the Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research (2006), the APS 2009 Davisson-Germer Prize, the ACS 2012 Award for encouraging women into careers in the Chemical Sciences, and the AVS 2012 Medard W. Welch award.