Division/Group Professional Awards

Awards | Nanotechnology Recognition Award

Nanotechnology Recognition Award

The Nanotechnology Recognition Award recognizes members of NSTD for outstanding scientific and technical contributions in the science of fabrication, characterization, and fundamental research employing nanometer-scale structures, scanning probe microscopy, technology transfer involving nanometer-scale structures, and/or the promotion and dissemination of knowledge and development in these areas. The award comprises a cash award plus a certificate. The nomination is for 2018, the deadline is August 4, 2017. The nomination consists of a nominating letter, biographical material, and supporting letters. Specific guidelines as well as the completed nomination should be emailed to: Sergei V. Kalinin (sergei2@ornl.gov). The Award will be presented at the AVS International Symposium and conference registration will be waived for the award winner. This award is made possible by financial support from NSTD's sponsors, who in 2016 were Asylum Research, Bruker, Heidelberg Instruments,  Nanoscribe, RHK Technology, and SPECS.


2016: Ricardo Garcia, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC

2015: Meyya Meyyapan, NASA Ames Research Center

2014:  Dawn Bonnell, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Pennsylvannia

2013:  Joseph Lyding, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2012:  Flemming Besenbacher, iNANO Center, Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark

2011:  Phaedon Avouris, Nanoscale Science Department, IBM Yorktown Heights

2010:  Roland Wiesendanger, Institue of Applied Physics, University of Hamburg

2009:  Joseph Stroscio, Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology, NIST

2004:  Harold Craighead, School of Applied and Engineering Physics, Cornell University

2001:  Nancy Burnham, Department of Physics, Worcester Polytechnic Institute