Division/Group Student Awards

Awards | Thin Film Division James Harper Award

Thin Film Division James Harper Award

The Thin Film Division's premier, competitive graduate student award is in honor of James M.E. Harper, who was a pioneer in the thin film areas of interconnects and silicides, and was active in the AVS as a Trustee, Director, vice-program chair, Thin Film chair, and many other roles. Finalists for the award will be chosen based on the application packages below, and the Harper Award will be given for the best oral presentation during a special event at the Annual Symposium. The award will consist of a plaque and cash prize of $800. Runners-up will receive Thin Film Graduate Student Awards of $500. Interested applicants should send 1) their CV; 2) a copy of their submitted AVS abstract; and 3) a letter of recommendation from their research advisor. To be eligible for the Harper Award, the student must be the presenter of an oral presentation in the Thin Film Division sessions at the AVS meeting and must be a currently registered graduate student on the date of the abstract submission deadline Application materials should be submitted through the awards submission site.  Deadline: May 2, 2018.

Awards Application