Society Honors

Awards | Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership


This honor is awarded to an individual who has performed eminent service to AVS and who has made outstanding contributions in science, engineering, or allied fields of interest to AVS. This award is presented to a current AVS member who has performed exceptional service to the Society with a demonstrated positive, long-term impact. This award requires a broad level of service, over many years, that has yielded a sustained benefit to the Society.


This award is made without restriction except that if the number of living Honorary Members exceeds 0.5% of the total membership of AVS, then the number of awards to be presented in a given year is limited to an absolute maximum of two. Current members of the Board of Directors and the Awards Committee are not eligible for election. The members of the Awards Committee must recuse themselves from discussion and selection of awardees if they contribute to a nomination.  Awards Committee members are strongly discouraged from contributing to a nomination for this reason. At least a three-fourths majority vote by the Board of Directors is necessary for election to Honorary Membership. 

Preview of  AVS Honorary Member Nomination Questions

Honorary Members

1956 Rudy A. Koehler 1992 Marsbed Hablanian 2005  Gerald Lucovsky
1963 Benjamin B. Dayton 1996 Howard Patton 2006 Alvin Czanderna
1967 Daniel Alpert * 1997 William D. Westwood 2007 Paula Grunthaner
1968 Luther E. Preuss * 1997 Paul H. Holloway 2008 Eric Kay
1981 N. Rey Whetten 1998 Collin Alexander * 2009 William D. Sproul
1981 Leonard C. Beavis 1999 James S. Murday 2009 Rudolf Ludeke
1982 Charles B. Duke 1999 Donna Bakale-Sherwin 2011 Robert A. Childs
1984 J. Roger Young 2000 Lawrence L. Kazmerski 2012 Cedric Powell
1985 Kai Siegbahn * 2001 Robert Willis 2013 Steve Rossnagel
1986 Manfred S. Kaminsky 2003 Gary E. McGuire 2013 Dave Castner
1988 Jack H. Singleton 2003 H. Fredrick Dylla 2014 John N. Russell, Jr.
1991 John Coburn* 2004 J. William Rogers, Jr. 2016 Dawn Bonnell
1991 J. Lyn Provo 2004 Arthur O. Fuente, Jr.    


* deceased

return to top