ASSD - Annual Symposium

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

Date: June 19-22, 2018
Location: Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), Richland, WA

Contact: Yingge Du, PNWAVS Chair  

Contact: Mark Engelhard  

Abstract Submission: SA 2018 Abstract Template
Flyer: PNWAVS 2018 Symposium
Program: 2018 SA Draft Program
Location: Airport/Hotel
Map: Campus Map

The 39th Symposium on Applied Surface Analysis will be held in conjunction with the 29th Annual Symposium of the Pacific Northwest Chapter of the American Vacuum Society  (PNWAVS) and SIMS USA 2018 at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), located in Richland, Washington on June 19-22, 2018. 

SIMS USA 2018 (June 19)

SIMS USA 2018 will be a one-day meeting focused on all aspects of secondary ion mass spectrometry (SIMS). The day will start with several tutorials, followed by invited and contributed talks on fundamental aspects of analysis and applications using SIMS.

SA/PNWAVS Sessions (June 20-22)

Contributions from all areas of surface and vacuum science are encouraged. Highlighted topics will include:
Environmental Science and Applications
  • Environmental interfaces and ambient surfaces
  • In-operando studies
Surface Science and Catalysis
  • Surface structures and reconstructions
  • Interface chemistry
  • Surface adsorption and reaction
  • Catalytic processes
Advanced Materials Synthesis and Properties
  • Electronic, magnetic, and optical properties
  • Epitaxial superlattices and interfaces
  • Organic films and self-assembled monolayers
  • Nanomaterials preparation and properties
  • Advanced thin film characterization techniques
Biomaterials and Biological Systems
  • Innovative surface analysis methods in bio-interfacial systems
  • Protein-surface, cell-surface and microbial-surface interactions
  • Biosensor, bioassay and biotechnology interfaces
  • Biology at the nanoscale and imaging modalities
  • Colloidal, particle and biomembrane systems

Invited Speakers

  • Prof. David H Cobden, University of Washington
  • Prof. Norbert Kruse, Washington State Univeristy
  • Prof. Greg Herman, Oregon State University
  • Dr. Yuyan Shao, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Prof. Luisa Whittaker-Brooks, University of Utah
  • Prof. Bharat Jalan, University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Kelsey Stoerzinger, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Prof. Pu Yu, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Dr. Vijayakumar Murugesan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Prof. Eric I. Altman, Yale University
  • Dr. Don Baer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Prof. Dave Castner, Univ. of Washington
  • Prof. Peter Williams, Arizona State University
  • Dr. Chris Szakal, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Dr. Todd Williamson, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Dr. Steve Harvey, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Dr. Nathan Havercroft, Ion TOF
  • Dr. Marco Hopstaken, IBM
  • Prof. Mike Eller, Texas A&M
  • Dr. Scott Bryan, Physical Electronics
  • Dr. Xiao-Ying Yu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

2nd Call for Papers

Contributed papers are requested for both oral and poster sessions. The Program Committee will organize papers into appropriate technical sessions. Participants who wish to present a paper should submit an abstract for consideration before the deadline. Please edit your abstract using the example template and submit it in Microsoft Word format to: and Abstracts are due May 1, 2018.

Poster Presentations

Two poster sessions will be held in conjunction with the vendor exhibit on Wednesday and Thursday (June 20 and 21). Included in the poster session will be a student poster competition for both undergraduate and graduate students. A cash award of $500 plus $500 towards expenses to attend the national AVS meeting will be given to the winner of the graduate competition. A cash award of $300 will be given for the winner of the undergraduate competition. Cash awards of $200 and $100 will be given to the 2nd and 3rd place winners from both competitions.

Student Participation

To encourage student participation, in addition to the poster competition, the PNWAVS will reimburse up to $60.00 per night for four nights (June 18-22), for the first 40 registered students. Contact Lisa Havens for details.


Registration cost for the full symposium will be $300 for preregistration or $350 at the conference. The student registration fee is $100. A single day registration fee for non-students is $150. The  registration fee includes the final program, refreshments, all lunches*, poster and vendor receptions*, and the conference banquet*
*Meals are provided by Exhibitor sponsorships.



The cut-off date for booking at the Government rate is May 14th.
486 Bradley Blvd
Richland, WA 99352
802 George Washington Way
Richland WA 99352

To make conventional reservations:
  1. Call 1-800 REDLION (733-5466)
  2. Ask to make a reservation at the Richland Red Lion
  3. Let them know you are with a group on June 18th, 2018
  4. Give them the group block code PNSA0618
  5. Complete individual reservation with agent.


The Tri-Cities area is composed of Richland, Pasco and Kennewick, and is located about 220 miles southeast of Seattle, WA and about 210 miles east of Portland, OR. The airport at Pasco (PSC) is served by Delta, United, and Alaska/Horizon airlines.

Student Accommodation Support

Student accommodations are heavily subsidized by the PNWAVS, limited space is available. Please contact Lisa Havens early to make arrangements.

Recreation Activities

Mount Rainier National Park, Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument, Columbia Gorge National Scenic Area and Grand Coulee Dam are within 2 hours driving distance. The Tri-Cities Winery Association is comprised of numerous wineries throughout the valley that are open daily. Or plan a tour of LIGO Hanford Observatory located just outside Richland to better understand the history and science that led to the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics.

SA 2018 Vendor Exhibit

Representatives from surface, thin film, and vacuum equipment manufacturers are invited to exhibit at the meeting. The vendor exhibit will be held on Wednesday and Thursday (June 20 and 21) during the symposium. Space is limited, so please contact Joe Gray at
 at your earliest convenience.


The banquet will be held on Wednesday evening, June 20th at EMSL. Extra tickets are available at $35/each.

SA 2018 Conference Deadlines

  • 2nd Call for Papers: February 15, 2018
  • Abstracts Due: May 1, 2018
  • Pre-Registration: May 31, 2018

Conference Committee

Conference Co-Chairs

Yingge Du, PNNL
Phone: (509) 371-6512

Mark Engelhard, PNNL
Phone: (509) 371-6494

Program Committee


  • Christopher Anderton (PNNL)
  • Anna Belu (Medtronic)
  • John Cliff (PNNL)
  • Christopher Szakal (NIST)
  • Nathan Havercroft (ION TOF USA)
  • Greg Fisher (PHI)
  • Amy Walker (University of Texas at Dallas)


  • Líney Árnadóttir (Oregon State Univ.)
  • Kateryna Artyushkova (Univ. of New Mexico)
  • Yingge Du (PNNL)
  • Mark Engelhard (PNNL)
  • David Lee (Washington State Univ.)
  • Vincent S. Smentkowski (GE-GRC)
  • Theva Thevuthasan (PNNL)
  • Xiaodong Xu (Univ. of Washington)
  • Zihua Zhu (PNNL)

Local Arrangements:

  • Connie Grytness: (509) 371-7372
  • Debbie Krisher: (509) 375-6761
  • Lisa Havens: (509) 371-6427

Quick Links