EMPD - Officers/Contacts

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing


Michael Filler
Ph:  404-894-0430
email: michael_filler @ avs.org

Program Chair
Rachael Myers-Ward
Ph:  202-404-1142
email: rachael_myers-ward @ avs.org

Program Vice-Chair
Jessica L. Hilton
Ph: 303-995-5855
email: jessica_hilton @ avs.org

Past Chair
Nikolaus Dietz
Ph: 404-413-6002
email: nikolaus_dietz @ avs.org

Angus Rockett
Ph: 217-333-0417
email: angus_rockett @ avs.org

Sean King
Ph: 503-613-7547
email: seanking @ avs.org

Executive Committee Members

Yohannes Abate (2018-2019)
Ph: 510-219-7329
email: yohannes_abate @ avs.org

Erica A. Douglas (2018-2019)
Ph: 505-366-3787
email: ericadouglas @ avs.org

Shalini Gupta (2018-2019)
Ph: 404-488-7445
email: shalini_gupta @ avs.org

Nick Strandwitz (2018-2019)
Ph: 610-758-4197
email: nick_strandwitz @ avs.org

Jason Kawasaki (2017-2018)
Madison, WI 53706
email: jason_kawasaki @ avs.org

Seth T. King (2017-2018)
Ph: 608-785-8671
email: seth_king @ avs.org

Michelle M. Paquette (2017-2018)
Ph: 816-235-1336
email: michelle_paquette @ avs.org

Wilman Tsai (2017-2018)
Ph: 408-678-2730
email: wilman_tsai @ avs.org


We are thankful to the following
individuals and organizations for their
support of AVS and their contributions
to the AVS Leadership Fund:

John M. Baker

Samuel D. Bader
John Baker
Timothy S. Barge
Victor Bermudez
Dawn Bonnell
Nancy Burnham
Lap S. Chan
Benjamin B. Dayton
Hugh L. Garvin
David Hoffman
John R. Noonan
Clifford G. Olson
Cedric Powell
David Simons
Michael Trenary
Gwo-Ching Wang
Cara Weitzsacker
Robert M. Willis 

Yip-Wah Chung
Paula Grunthaner
Michael Grunze
Marsbed Hablanian
Michael Kottke
James M. Lafferty
Theodore E. Madey
Buddy Ratner
William R. Wheeler

James S. Murday
Stephen J. Pearton

Rudolf Dobrozemsky
Helix Technology
Paul Holloway
Walter M. McCain
Gary W. Rubloff
Rey Whetten



"Feeling connected to the larger
scientific community is very important.
An award is the nicest kind of
connection, saying that your work is
appreciated by your peers."

Dr. Jerry Tersoff, IBM T.J. Watson
Research Center
[on receiving the 2007 AVS Medard W.
Welch Award]