PSTD - Awards

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

Professional Awards

Division and group awards will be given for participation at the AVS International Symposium and Exhibition this October. more

The Plasma Science & Technology Division is pleased to solicit nominations for the Prize, which is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the field of plasma science and technology. Please submit ONLY the following required application materials: (1) A one-page description citing the reason for the nomination and (2) a biography and Curriculum Vitae of the nominee. Nominations must be submitted as a pdf file by email to: Steven Vitale ( Nomination deadline: May 1, 2019.

Past Winners

2017 - Meyya Meyyappan 
2016 - Satoshi Hamaguchi
2015 - Uwe R. Kortshagen
2014 - Richard van de Sanden
2013 - Peter Ventzek
2012 - David Ruzic
2011 - Richard Gottscho
2010 - Seiji Samukawa
2009 - Eray Aydil
2009 - Francis Chen
2008 - Demetre Economou
2007 - Herbert H. Sawin
2006 - Toshiaki Makabe
2005 - Gottlieb Oehrlein
2004 - Noah Hershkowitz
2003 - Vince Donnelly
2002 - Greg Hebner
2001 - David Graves
2000 - Rod Boswell
1999 - Mark Kushner

Student Awards

John Coburn and Harold Winters Student Award in Plasma Science and Technology
John Coburn and Harold Winters Student Award in Plasma Science and Technology - Required Application Materials: 1) A curriculum vitae of the nominee, 2) A one-page letter of recommendation from the student's research advisor/mentor, 3) A copy of the nominee's submitted abstract for the AVS International Symposium. A maximum of six finalists will be selected on the basis of technical and scientific merit and originality of research. Each finalist will receive a cash award of $500 and an official certificate and must present their paper in a closed door session.  This closed door presentation will be in addition to the regularly scheduled PSTD oral session at the AVS Symposium. The Coburn and Winters Award winner will be selected from the finalists on the basis of the oral presentations, the quality of research, the clarity of the presentations, and the potential for the research to advance the field of plasma science. The winner’s award consists of an additional cash prize of $500. The selection of finalists and the award winner is made by the PSTD Executive Committee. These awards are contingent upon acceptance of the abstract for presentation in a PSTD session at the AVS International Symposium. Submissions are limited to one application from a particular research group unless previously discussed with the Awards Coordinator. All materials should be sent to submitted through the AVS award site and must be received on or before May 2, 2018.

Past Winners

2017 - Hyun-Joon Roh
2016 - Souvik Ghosh
2015 - Hu Li 
2014 - Paul Rumbach and Bastien Bruneau
2013 - Rohan Chaukulkar
2012 - Joe Lee
2011 - Harald Profijt
2010 – Bhavin Jariwala
2009 - Yang Yang
2008 - Emile Despiau-Pujo 
2007 - Joydeep Guha
2006 - Lin Xu
2005 - Joseph VĂ©gh
2004 - Jun Belen
2003 - Jan Benedikt
2002 - Lin Sha
2001 - Nicolas Fuller
2000 - Siva Kanakasabapathy
1999 - Erwin Kessels
1998 - Catherine Labelle
1997 - Mikhail Malyshev
1996 - Jane Chang
1995 - Not given
1994 - Bruce Kellerman