Vacuum Technology Division

Advancing the Science and Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing

Recent Winners of VTD Early Career Award


  • Sam Posen, from Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory is the VTD Early Career Award Winner for AVS63.  His research on Nb3Sn thin film coatings for superconducting RF (SRF) has huge impacts on the field of particle accelerator science and technology.  Sam was the first to clearly demonstrate that there is a very promising future for SRF technology beyond traditional niobium, which is approaching the theoretical performance limits.  He will be giving a talk titled “Saving Megawatts in a Micron: Tailoring the Surfaces of Superconducting RF Cavities” at 4:20 PM, Tuesday November 8th, 2016. 


  • James Burst, Research Engineer, National Renewable Energy Laboratory for Vacuum Technology Insights into Thin Film Photovoltaic Research.  


Jason D. Myers, the first winner of the Vacuum Technology Division Early Career award, awarded at the AVS61 in Baltimore. As part of the award, Jason gave an invited talk “Novel Vacuum Processing of Thin-Film Photovoltaic Materials”.  Jason received his Ph.D. in 2011 and is a Materials Research Engineer at the US Naval Research Laboratory.